Room With A Queue?…

There seems to be a theme with the titles of my last couple of posts, but I’m going to run with it anyway as it was the first thing that came into my head. ๐Ÿ™‚

We are on our last night at Lovely Mans. As you’ll know if you’ve read some of my earlier posts, Lovely Man lives a couple of hours away from me. Gorgeous Girl and I have been here since Monday as it’s the school holidays and for the most part it’s been great.

But there’s one thing that I just can’t fathom, and that’s why every bloody person in the house wants to sleep in our room! 

Now the house isn’t short of bedrooms, having four in total, the main three being huge and the fourth being smaller. They all have lovely beds and lovely decor. So why on earth does Gorgeous Girl insist on ‘making a nest’ on the floor in our room??? 

I just can’t fathom it. She was fine at the start – remember she’s been coming to this house for many years, as did the older two when they were younger and didn’t have the distraction of girls, boys and jobs to make them want to stay at home during weekends and holidays. At that time they each had their own room and they all – including Gorgeous Girl – slept in their own beds. Happily.

So what’s changed? 

Well her movie choices certainly have, which may have something to do with it. 


Not that I allow her to watch films that are inappropriate for her age, but the films and tv shows of today are nothing, and I mean nothing like the ones I used to watch. 

At her age I was watching Lassie Come Home or Rentaghost, not 13 Reasons Why (a series about why a schoolgirl commits suicide….). Because of the story, I watch it with her so that I can explain anything she doesn’t understand or feels uncomfortable watching. She seems to like it and hasn’t asked too many questions, which I think I’m pleased about. ๐Ÿค” 

Another film suggested by her form tutor was ‘Eye In the Sky’, an interesting film about terrorists and the decision having to be taken to shoot remotely via a drone, knowing full well they may kill a little girl. Again, I watched it with her and she seemed incredibly interested in it, but sadly not too shocked at the storyline. 

Maybe it’s the things she views. Or maybe it’s the house. His house is gorgeous. A 1930s detached home just a few minutes from the sea. I love it. I love it’s character and feel completely at ease here. But I suppose I can understand why it would make you feel nervous. In the evening with a couple of lights on, it could look like it’s straight out of a creepy movie!

        NOT his actual house!…..๐Ÿ˜‰

And then there’s the dog. Yep, the dog’s in with us too. Sigh. ๐Ÿ™„ This is one spoiled pooch. She has two beds downstairs and a further three in the bedrooms – the kids were all so desperate to be her favourite that they did their best to bribe her to stay with them – and yet not only is Gorgeous Girl making a nest, but following closely behind is the dog! 


So I’m writing this because at the moment I have a man on my right snoring gently, a girl on the floor to my left talking in her sleep and grinding her teeth, and a dog snuggled underneath the dressing table stool making funny noises because she’s dreaming.

I think I’ll be making use of one of the empty beds….!

Leave a Reply

