Driving Miss Crazy….

Getting ready to go on a trip stresses me out terribly. Whether it’s a picnic somewhere close or a flight to an exotic destination with a gorgeous hotel and an open bar – it doesn’t matter – I get so stressed that I worry about every little detail, from pork pies to passports.

When going abroad, I have a huge travel wallet and a copy of every booking and confirmation in there – that I have cross referenced to confirm times and dates, just to make sure I’ve bookedΒ them correctly!

Of course, holidays abroad are much more stressful, mainly because there’s so much to remember. Flight dates, times, weight of the luggage, day trips etc., etc.

Day trips within the U.K. and trips to Lovely Mans however, still make me stressed and snappy – and I’m just Not. Sure. Why….

I started writing this because we were embarking on a trip to Lovely Mans for 4 days and (as usual) I was unbelievably grumpy on the run up to leaving. It’s like I’ve never done the trip before, yet it’s something I’ve done probably hundreds of times over the past 15 years. There I was snapping at Gorgeous Girl just because I couldn’t find the dogs harness for in the car. My reason? She sits in the back with the dog so must know where it is. Honestly ….πŸ™„

When we finally left, Lovely Man was driving my car – and he seemed so on edge.Β I couldn’t work out why…until I realised. It was because of me πŸ˜•

With my stressing about what needed to go in the car and what didn’t, how to keep the dog under control, making sure there was something to snack on in case of traffic, whether we had enough fuel, etc., etc., I’d inadvertently stressed him out and turned him into a tensed up wreck!

Stress is contagious – who knew?!?!

Once I’d realised what I’d done, I immediately felt terrible. Just because I’m a real worrier, I shouldn’t have allowed it to affect everyone else. And I had.

So I tried my best to cheer everyone up, by offering to drive (‘No thanks, I’m OK’) and trying to chat to Gorgeous Girl (‘I’m listening to something Mum’) Oh dear…πŸ˜”

I finally tried something I felt sure would help – Chocolate!πŸ˜‰ It worked thank goodness! Soon we were laughing, singing and trying a mixture of Hershey’s Cookies ‘n Creme, soft peppermint rock and my car staple – lollipops.

The rest of the 2 hour journey went smoothly, and when we got to Lovely Mans it emerged that I hadn’t forgotten anything. Except perhaps my sanity.

From now on I’m going to do my best to stop stressing about trivial things. I’m not sure it’ll work, but I’ll do my best…..πŸ˜•

Holiday Travel.

Leave a Reply

