Merry Christmas! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Merry Christmas! How was yours? My day was great, all in all.

Because of Lovely Mans father, we were playing today by ear, as we honestly didn’t know whether he’d still be with us.

Well he was. And he was also well enough to join us for several hours, to open his gifts and enjoy dinner ๐Ÿ˜Šย I think it was nice for Gorgeous Girl to spend time with her grandfather outside the setting of a hospice, as homely as it is.

I say it was great – it wasn’t totally…..

img_0107

My family came over for breakfast baguettes (this is now a family tradition, as it means my family see the kids, we all open our gifts, and they bugger off back to their own house for xmas dinner), Darling Daughter & her partner then arrived to open their gifts. And it seemed to take hours….

Anyway, they went back off to have dinner at partners house ๐Ÿ™„, and I got down to the crucial art of timing the dinner. We had cooked a couple of meats the day before, knowing that it would be impossible to do them all on Christmas Day, so we only had the main meat and all the sides left- simples.๐Ÿ˜Š

Or not….

We were ย supposed to eat at 3pm, so told Lovely Man’s mum that we were eating at 2pm as she’s always late. ๐Ÿ˜‰

She got there about half 2, Lovely Man collected his father at around the same time and even my elusive son came home for dinner, so we opened gifts and made small talk while we waited for the crown to be ready.

And waited. And waited. And waited…..

Everything else was ready, but the crown was still raw in the middle ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Now, I thought I’d be clever and get a crown of meat that looked like a Christmas pudding. They have stuffing in the middle, and you almost slice them like you’d cut a cake.

img_1215

 

Sadly, Lovely Man was distracted and had read the cooking time as an hour and a half less than it should be.

So no turkey on Christmas Day. ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

I have to say his family were very nice about it – luckily there was TONNES of lamb & gammon – and we still had a lovely dinner. And my family enjoyed the turkey ‘bomb’ the following day when they came for Boxing Day lunch, so all was well I suppose.

I just wanted everything to be perfect for Lovely Mans dad on his last Christmas. I think being out of the hospice and surrounded by loved ones who joked with him and treated him ‘normally ‘ for a day would have been perfect in his eyes.

At least I hope so.

img_1217

 

Leave a Reply

